Lobster Boat Racing

SSTIDD7

Boat Make
after a 20 year hiatus, i'm looking for a project boat to keep me off the streets!
OK, I'll be the first customer. I want to take a trip North this summer. I've been thinking of working a boat race into the mix. Being a complete newbie/tourist at it, I was wondering what is the best way to go at it. Maybe get in the pits, get a few autographs !(ok...maybe I've been to one too many Nascar races).

Anyway, just looking for a few dos and don'ts about the races. Looks like a fun event to work into a trip.

F/V First Team

Captain
Website
www.otisenterprisesmarine.com
Boat Make
Northern Bay 36 - Modified
2016 Race Dates

I feel that the best way to view a race is to be in a boat. Chances are, if you're in a Downeast style boat, you can whistle down the race course once you sign up and are put into a class.

As far as dos and don'ts, don't bring a sour attitude, and do have a good time.

Last edited by a moderator:

Eastporter

Captain
Boat Make
Sold- 20' Eastporter (Rebuilt 2011) 22' Pearson Ensign
New Boat Racing Section

Thank you Travis. Looking forward to some good stories.

WoundUpMarine

Captain
Lite User
Boat Make
26 Duffy, 14 Holland
Cant wait, I get home the wednesday before the boothbay races. Travis, you going to make it down?

F/V First Team

Captain
Website
Boat Make
[FONT=&quot]Maine Lobster Boat Racing Association[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Rules[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]START: You should be in the “START AREA†two races before yours. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]For the start, entrants should be at idle and line up with the “START BOATâ€, increase speed with the “START BOAT†who will drop the flag when the entrant’s bows are line up with them.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]FALSE START: The “STARTER†will circle the flag over his head and the “START BOAT†captain will call “FALSE START†on the radio. Boats will return to the “START AREA†and try again.[/FONT]