replacement for Furuno 585

FlyingConnie

Website
WWW.FlyingConnie.com
Boat Make
28' Crowley Beal
I have operated every trip (since 2007) with a Furuno 585 with a flush mount thru hull 600watt transducer 50/200kh. I fish rips and bottom inshore 9' to 140', with an occasional offshore trip. Whats my next unit?
TIA

Last edited:

Wharf Rat

Marine Electronics 'Professional'
Forum Sponsor
Website
www.precisionmarinecenter.com
Boat Make
OPB
If you do need to replace it, just go with the FCV-588. Same exact button and user interface, just different guts and screen. The display is easier to see and they added a digital echo filter with the 587. No need to change the transducer or power cable.

duxbait

Captain
I currently have a 588 w/260 transducer. I've been running this combo for 4 or 5 years. Excellent unit, but looking to go to a wider beam. Considering a Simrad S2009 w/175hw. I have heard good things of this combination. I fish similar depths to you and want a larger view under the boat. The durability of furuno is unmatched imo though.

Boat Make
General Marine 26
I will sell you a sinker attached to a string! You’re absolutely crazy to sell that Mike. I have Simrad Side Scan and Down Scan; all the nonsense. Theres no way I could ever part with my Furuno 585. Absolute workhorse and reads bottom perfectly on plane!

Boat Make
General Marine 26
If you want to add some excitement to that unit turn on the sound alert when you’re marking fish like they do on Wicked Tuna!

Wharf Rat

Marine Electronics 'Professional'
Forum Sponsor
Website
www.precisionmarinecenter.com
Boat Make
OPB
I currently have a 588 w/260 transducer. I've been running this combo for 4 or 5 years. Excellent unit, but looking to go to a wider beam. Considering a Simrad S2009 w/175hw. I have heard good things of this combination. I fish similar depths to you and want a larger view under the boat. The durability of furuno is unmatched imo though.